Irish blues?

Ok – not strictly correct. But when I listen to old blues players and Irish musicians, in both cases I hear music ‘in their blood’. Both brim with ‘soul’. Both speak their histories and culture. I experienced Irish music frequently when living and working in an Irish pub. Standing pulling pints behind the bar, my jaw would then drop in awe at the beauty and virtuosity of the musicians that stayed for late night lock-ins.

Here, then, is my attempt at some of the Irish guitar instrumentals. Anyone chancing upon this, I’m a poor imitation. You really should hear this music done by true Irish musicians.

 

I’ve tried to capture the atmosphere of those music sessions (back bar of ‘The Bully’ lock-ins)  in words, through creative writing, here:   The Craic 

 

Leave a Reply

